Skip to content

Theophobia

17 February 2009

This blog is quickly becoming more about religion than food. Granted, the two are rather closely related for me, but that’s for another post.

I realized today during a discussion in Religion & Ecology. We were talking about Judaism’s view of the Creator-Creation relationship, and the professor asked if one of us could recite and explain the significant of the Shema. After several moments of silence, I reluctantly answered, as it seemed no one else would. My voice shook and my face flushed hot and red. What was wrong?

I was afraid, religion. Afraid of what? Afraid of being identified as Jewish? Afraid of being wrong? Afraid of being judged?

And that, I realized, is my primary hesistation to explore religion. I have other reasons; philosophical ones, social ones (this is touched on with regard to Judaism here), but this is the personal one.

I am afraid of not being taken seriously.

I often feel even now that I’m not. Why should I be? I’m young, I’m an optimist, I’m emotional, I’m often random, even absurd in my humor, and, truth be told, I’m something of a ditz. I suppose I often do play the fool. But for the most part, when I am being serious, I am taken seriously, for which I am thanful.

The main way I am not taken seriously is that my conceptions about the importance of food is often tolerated as an eccenric zeal. It’s a passion of which I derive much pleasure and recreation, to be sure, but it is also a topic I consider of earnest importance to not just how I view the world, but how the world needs to change.

And that is just one belief, one considered mostly harmless. If I was religious, what would happen then?

I fear that my beliefs would not be taken seriously by my areligious family; I am already rather “out there” to them. I fear dismissal from my friends, even my significant other, many of whom are cynical.

I fear alienation from the religious community I might choose. For being an outsider, for not being of the proper upbringing or culture, for having interpretations (such as those about food) which are considered against the grain. I fear denial, the assumption that I am “not one of them”, to not be taken seriously as a community member.

More grandly, I feel it would limit my ability to influence this world that I feel so desperatly I need to change. A religious idenity would give debators the power to label me as a “religious radical”, to accuse my beliefs of having no basis in secular reality, science, economics, fact. I want a voice that is not so easily dismissed. But can I have one if it is accented with religion?

And I fear it would mean I could not take myself seriously. For many of the same reasons as why I fear others would not. How could I not doubt my own motivations, just as I now doubt my motivations for wanting to find a firmer spiritual base? I am so emotional already; haven’t I been told that such emotion should be controlled, not released? How could I not doubt that my beliefs exist out of a personal weakness, a lack of strength to accept the world as it is in all it’s brutal truth? Would it be a denial of my skeptic, economic upbringing to accept and not to challenge? Much less the issue of how could I believe religion…how could I believe myself?

I know many of the above fears might seem irrational, even silly. But that’s what fear is I suppose, and it is a fear I cannot dismiss so easily.

Love,
Herbert.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Merav permalink
    16 March 2009 4:33 PM

    I am always happy to talk about Judaism with anyone. If you’d like, I’m here.

Leave a Reply

